Skip directly to content

Community Service Organizations

on Sun, 02/09/2014 - 00:26

 

Need help finding volunteer service ideas? There are many groups that connect individuals with volunteer activities. Here are three, which are familiar to Hunter families:

 

·      Doing Good Together  -  www.doinggoodtogether.org

·      Volunteer Match  -  www.volunteermatch.org

·      New York Cares -  newyorkcares.org

 

New York City has more places to donate your services than there are students at Hunter. Here are a few places recommended by and for Hunter families:

 

·      Alma Rangle Gardens  -  (917) 507-1108

·      ASPCA  -  http://www.aspca.org/nyc

·      Central Park Conservancy  -  www.centralparknyc.org/keepingitgreen  -also- centralparknyc.org/volunteer

·      Chinatown Youth Initiatives  -  www.cyinyc.org

·      City Harvest  -  www.cityharvest.org

·      Color A Smile  -  www.colorasmile.org

·      Dorot  -  www.dorotusa.org

·      Giving Tuesday  -  www.community.givingtuesday.org

·      God’s Love We Deliver  -  www.glwd.org/volunteer/overview

·      Family to Family  -  www.family-to-family.org/kids-helping-kids/the-birthday-giving-project

·      FEGS  -  www.fegs.org

·      Hebrew Union college Soup Kitchen  -  http://huc.edu/volunteer

·      Holy Apostles Soup Kitchen  -  http://www.holyapostlessoupkitchen.org

·      It’s My Park  -  www.cityparksfoundation.org/partnerships-for-parks/its-my-park-day/

·      Jewish Home and Lifecare  -  www.jewishhome.org

·      Manhattan Church of Christ  -  manhattanchurch.org

·      Marcus Garvey Park Alliance  -  212-535-2975

·      Met Council  -  www.metcouncil.org

·      Muslim Consultative Network  -  http://mcnny.org

·      Partnership For The Homeless  -  www.partnershipforthehomeless.org

·      Police Athletic League  -  www.palnyc.org/800-PAL-4KIDS/Home.aspx

·      The Riverside Church  - www.theriversidechurchny.org/stewardship/?volunteer

·      Riverside Park Fund  -  http://riversideparknyc.org/volunteer/